Planet Earth



Planet Earth is made up of seven continents and five oceans.

A **continent** is a large area of land that contains different countries.

An **ocean** is a very large area of salty water.





Europe





One of the world's smaller continents, it contains countries such as the UK, France and Italy. It has many famous landmarks, such as the Eiffel Tower.

North America





The Earth's third largest continent, it includes America, Canada and Mexico. It has many natural wonders, such as the Grand Canyon.

South America





The Earth's fourth largest continent, it includes Brazil, Chile and Peru. It has the world's largest rainforest (Amazon) and driest desert (Atacama).

Oceania





The smallest continent, it is made up of Australia, New Zealand and many other smaller islands. It is home to the Great Barrier Reef.

Africa





The second largest continent, it has 54 countries, including Egypt, Nigeria and Ghana. Africa has the world's largest desert (Sahara) and longest river (Nile).

Asia





The biggest continent in the world, made up of 48 countries including China and India. Asia has the world's highest mountains (the Himalayas) and the world's lowest point (the Dead Sea).

Antartica





At the bottom of planet Earth, it is the coldest, driest, and windiest continent in the world. Due to the weather, no humans live there.